Lockers

Schools

Montana GEAR UP partners with 18 middle & high schools to help equip them with the tools necessary to thrive in the world of college and work. Our programs are designed at the school level to make sure we cater to the needs of your school and its particular set of challenges. 

GEAR UP Schools and Colleges

Montana GEAR UP schools offer comprehensive mentoring & tutoring services, access to dual enrollment, help with college applications, guidance on financial aid & scholarships, organization of summer programs & internships, and lots more!  Gear Up programs are designed at the school level to make sure we cater to the needs of schools and their particular set of challenges.

School 

Liaison 

Contact Info 

Arlee Public Schools 

 

Damon Cordier

e: dsmith@arleeschools.org

p: 726-3216 ext: 2305 

Box Elder Public Schools 

Megan Maroney 

e: mmaroney@boxelder.k12.mt.us

p: 352-4195 ext: 5132 

Browning Middle School 

Nathan Stone 

e: nathans@bps.k12.mt.us

p: 338-2725 ext: 4921 

Browning High School 

Melanie Magee 

e: melaniem@bps.k12.mt..us
p: 338-2745 ext: 4565 

Hardin Middle School 

Ladona Yerian  

e: ladona.yerian@hardin.k12.mt.us

p: 665-6343 

Hardin High School 

Lance Olson 

e: lance.olson@hardin.k12.mt.us

p: 665-6406 

Harlem Public Schools 

David Murray

e: davidm@harlem-hs.k12.mt.us

p: 353-2289 X 3803

Hays Lodge Pole Public Schools 

Paul Condon 

e: pcondon@hlpschools.k12.mt.us

p: 548-4723 

Lame Deer Public Schools 

Frances Altekruse

e: frances.altekruse@lamedeer.k12.mt.us

p: 477-8900 ext: 1217

Libby Public Schools  

Deanna Malyevac 

e: malyevacd@libbyschools.org

p: 293-8802 ext: 1951 

Lodge Grass Public Schools 

TBD 2022

e:

p:

Pryor Public Schools 

Talitha Goes Ahead 

e: talithagoesahead@pryorstaff.org

p: 259-7329 

Rocky Boy Public Schools 

Sapphire Carter 

e: sapphirec@rockyboy.k12.mt.us

p: 395-4474 ext: 223 

St. Ignatius Public Schools 

Alan Pule 

e: apule@stignatiusschools.org

p: 745-3811ext: 265 

St. Regis Public Schools 

Jennifer Pruitt 

e: pruittjennifer@stregis.k12.mt.us

p: 649-2311 

Superior Public Schools 

Toni Labbe  

e: tmlabbe@ssd3.us

p: 822-3600 ext: 117 

Thompson Falls Public Schools 

Penny Beckman 

e: pbeckman@tfalls.orgp: 827-3593 ext: 7069 

Troy Public Schools

Jessica Knapp

e: jknapp@troyk12.org

p: 295-4520 ext: 2126 

School 

Coordinator 

Contact Info 

Flathead Valley Community College

Lauri Berg 

e: lberg@fvcc.edu

p: 406-756-3882 

Montana State University 

Judi Haskins 

e: jhaskins@montana.edu

p: 406-994-4374 

Montana State University - Billings 

 TBD

 

Salish Kootenai College 

Terri Cordier

e: terri_cordier@skc.edu

p: 406-275-4792

University of Montana 

Mindy May 

e: mindy.may@mso.umt.edu

p: 406-243-2281

Supporting GEAR UP at your school.

 
Services

Examples of GEAR UP Supported Services

Services Under Goal 1: Prepare students academically to take college level classes without the need for remediation. To help meet this objective GEAR UP funds services like dual enrollment classes, STEM exploration, academic assessments, academic competitions, robotics and drone classes, as well as professional development for teachers.

Services Under Goal 2: Increase high school graduation levels and college enrollment. To help meet this objective GEAR UP funds services like academic tutoring and remediation, orientations for students entering 7th and 9th grade, college application week, and senior portfolios.  

Services Under Goal 3: Increase parents’ and student’s knowledge of post-secondary options, including affordability. To help meet this objective GEAR UP funds services like career fairs, academic advising that helps parents understand what their student needs to do to be college ready, financial literacy, FAFSA assistance, campus visits, and hosting college student panels.

Visit

Implementing A College Going Culture

If you would like to help GEAR UP at your school, volunteer to be a local team member, help with GEAR UP activities, talk with students and their caregivers about why education is needed after high school. Display posters that encourage students to graduate and pursue higher education. Invite guest speakers who can talk about how their education is used in their career. Find creative ways to use assignments to help students connect classroom learning with higher education. 

Talk to students about how your education has helped you in life. Help them understand how to afford college. Encourage them to use tutoring, to take harder classes, and make yourself available to answer their questions. One caring adult can make all the difference. Students beyond the top 5% of academic performers can successfully obtain a college education. One sentence of belief can inspire a student to aim high.

What Does GEAR UP Mean for Your Community

 

18
Gear Up schools
8,800
students served
5,800
America Indian students served